PART 145–These are the “standard” maintenance organizations. TAC and large aircraft and their elements must be maintained in these organizations. They are regulated by Regulation (EU) 1321/2014 and subsequent revisions in Annex II (Part 145).The EASA Part 145 Regulation establishes common technical requirements and administrative procedures for ensuring the continuing airworthiness of aircraft. 

Facilities-> The organisation shall ensure that: there are available hangars with enough dimensions for base maintenance of airplane that it is approved to maintain and also component workshops are large enough to accommodate the components on planned maintenance. Office accommodation for management and certifying staff to carry out their tasks properly. The environment in maintenance must be regulated and stay in good temperatures, without dust, good lighting and without noise because in other conditions can interrupt the maintenance personal and cause an accident.

Personnel-> Have an accountable manager to ensure that all the maintenance required by customer can be done. Nominate a person or group of persons ensuring that the organisation complies with this part. Have a maintenance man-hour plan showing that the organization has sufficient staff to carry out the tasks in according with the approval. People who does NDT must to be certified in accordance with the European or equivalent Standard recognised by the Agency; except if it is colour contrast dye penetrant tests that can be done by people qualified in B1/B3 category.

Have the appropriate staffs of the category or subcategory that you need in accordance with the approval. The organization shall maintain a record of all certifying staff and support staff.

Equipment, tools and material-> The organisation shall be available all the tools that the personal need to carry out the maintenance tasks approved and this tools must be calibrated. In a base of maintenance, platforms/docking to can access to the airplane or to do a properly inspection must be available. All the components that are going to be installed in the aircraft must have the EASA Form 1 or equivalent.

Approved data-> A certificate of release to service shall be issued to the airplane when all the tasks have been done properly by the organisation. The organisation must to report any hazard situation on the airplane to the agency, manufacturer and CAA. This will be send in 72 hours from the hazard was discovered. Maintenance Organisation Exposition (MOE) where contain the material specifying the scope of work deemed to constitute approval and showing how the organization intends to comply with this Annex (Part-145). The organization shall record all details of maintenance work carried out. Only maintain an aircraft or component for which it is approved.

This Subpart establishes the requirements to be met by an organization to qualify for the issue or continuation of an approval for the maintenance of aircraft. They are regulated by Regulation (EU) 1321/2014 and subsequent revisions in Annex I (Part M).Facilities-> Ensure that the job can be carry out satisfactorily in good environment and without contamination, have the proper offices and storages where keep the tools, equipment.

 Personnel-> An accountable manager who ensure that all the maintenance required by the customer can be done. Person or group of persons to ensure that the organisation is in compliance with this part. Have the certifying staffs available for the tasks approved.

Components, equipment and tools-> (The same for PART 145, but less restrictive) The organisation shall be available all the tools that the personal need to carry out the maintenance tasks approved and this tools must be calibrated. All the components that are going to be installed in the aircraft must have the EASA Form 1 or equivalent.

Approved data-> Issue a certificate of release to service (CRS) when all the tasks are properly done by the organisation. CAMO in according with the subpart G of Part M, must have under control all the maintenance carried out and keep all the records of the aircraft until 2 years after the aircraft was withdraw of service. The maintenance organization shall provide a manual where contain: A signed of accountable manager confirming this part will work I.A.W. Part M and Manual, list of personal, facilities provided, the organization’s scope of work…

The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), is the specialized agency of the United Nations. It was created by the signing of the Convention on International Civil Aviation (or Chicago Convention) in Chicago on December 7, 1944

ICAO is the permanent body responsible for the administration of the principles set out in the Convention. It has its headquarters in Montreal, Canada, and at the European level in Paris.

ICAO consists of 192 signatory states, of which only three are not members.

ICAO’s aims and objectives are to draw up the principles and techniques of international air navigation and to promote the planning and development of international air transport. Some of them are: Avoid discrimination between contracting states, Promote safety of light in international air navigation; Prevent economic waste caused by unreasonable competition;.

The ICAO Council has elaborated and adopted 18 technical annexes.

Most important annexes for aircraft maintenance purposes are:

Annex 1: Personnel Licensing

Annex 6: Operation of Aircraft

Annex 8: Airworthiness of Aircraft

Annex 10: Aeronautical Telecommunications.

The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) is the centrepiece of aviation safety in the European Union. Its mission is to promote and achieve the highest common standards of safety, to facilitate the free movement of goods, persons and services, to support the regulatory and certification process, to assist Member States in meeting their obligations under the Treaty and to promote the development of the European Union.

ICAO’s global obligations and environmental protection in civil aviation

The headquarters is in Cologne (Germany) and started operations in September 2003. The agency employs more than 400 staff from all European Union countries.

The creation of EASA paved the way for new legislation on civil aviation safety and environmental compatibility. The new regulation is (EC) 2018/1139 based on (EC) 216/2008 and sets out the tasks of the Agency.

EASA promotes and defends its views on safety standards to be applied in civil aviation.


Firstly, EU regulations established that EASA is the basis for action in the field of certification of aeronautical products, organisations and individuals involved in the design, production and maintenance of aircraft.

In a second step, the Commission, assisted by EASA, will gradually propose the necessary amendments to extend the scope of the text to EASA currently has the following responsibilities:

– To provide technical expertise to the EU for new legislation.

– To implement and monitor the application of safety policies, including the conduct of inspections

in the Member States.

– Carry out certification of aircraft and equipment.

Issue licences to organisations providing design, manufacture and maintenance of aeronautical products

– To allow operators from third countries (those outside the EU)

– To carry out research and security analysis.

In 2009, the European Commission extended EASA’s areas of competence even further.

The body is now also responsible for safety at airports and air traffic management (ATM), as well as air navigation services (ANS).